Thursday, December 08, 2016

every All-State selection since 1972

The 2016 Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State football team will be released this month, adding a new group of talented players to the list of greats going all the way back to the first All-State team published by the Honolulu Advertiser in 1972.

Five years later, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin released its first All-State team in 1977. Prior to that, the Bulletin published only all-league teams using the rational that they hadn’t seen enough neighbor-island teams to accurately choose the best.

Here is the list of every All-State first teamer, you can sort by columns or if you are interested in a single team just type the school name in the search box.

I'll just list the Players of the Year (Offense and Defense)

2015 - Vavae Malepeai (O), Keala Santiago (D)
2014 - McKenzie Milton (O), Rex Manu (D)
2013 - Larry Tuileta (O), Kelii Padello (D)
2012 - Aofaga Wily (O), Kawahena Johnson (D)
2011 - Kenan Sadanaga (O), Benetton Fonua (D)
2010 - not listed, but Marcus Mariota was the QB
2009 - Ryan Ho (O) / Andrew Manley (O), Hauoli Jamora (D,D) / Beau Yap (D) [why are there 3 Ds?]
2008 - Andrew Manley (O,O) / Robby Toma (O), Mani Teo (D,D)

Forget it, it's confusing.  Why does 2010 have no players of the year and 2009 has three defensive player of the year awards?  You can look for yourself..

OK, I now see I have a post below on the 2010 All-State team.  Mariota was indeed the offensive player of the year, while Juda Parker was the defensive player of the year.  Parker went on to play at Colorado.

No comments: